Transformation through Online Yoga

Transformation through online yoga

Transformation through online Yoga:We offer regular Yoga Classes in online/offline mode for general well being of mind and body and to achieve success in life

To overcome/ manage specific health problems, we at Maitri Foundation have designed holistic treatment methods including Yoga Therapy and other traditional and natural methods.

Transformation through Online Yoga: is an old discipline from  India. It is both spiritual and physical. Yoga uses breathing techniques, exercise and meditation. It helps to improve health and happiness. Yoga is the sanskrit word for union. Patanjali was a pioneer of classical yoga. He defined yoga as “the cessation of the modification of the mind” (stopping changing the mind).

Yoga: was introduced by Indian Ascetic. Ascetic practices (tapas) are referenced in the Brahmanas (900 to 500 BC), early commentaries on the Vedas. Several seals discovered at Indus valley Civilisation (~3300–1700 B.C)

Yoga is a physical, mental and spiritual practice that originated in ancient India. First codified by the sage Patanjali in his Yoga Sutras around 400 C.E, the practice was in fact handed down from teacher to student long before this text arose. Traditionally, this was a one-to-one transmission, but since yoga became popular in the West in the 20th century, group classes have become the norm.

Transformation through Online Yoga: The word yoga is derived from the Sanskrit root yuj, meaning “to yoke,” or “to unite”. The practice aims to create union between body, mind and spirit, as well as between the individual self and universal consciousness. Such a union tends to neutralize ego-driven thoughts and behaviours, creating a sense of spiritual awakening.

Yog has been practiced for thousands of years, and whilst many different interpretations and styles have been developed, most tend to agree that the ultimate goal of yoga is to achieve liberation from suffering. Although each school or tradition of yoga has its own emphasis and practices, most focus on bringing together body, mind and breath as a means of altering energy or shifting consciousness.

Modern yoga is most commonly associated with the physical practice of asana, a series of postures often weaved together in styles such as Vinyasa Flow or Ashtanga. Asana practice is generally intended to build strength and stamina, to improve flexibility, coordination and balance, and to relax the body. However, this provides only one small aspect of the tradition of yoga as a whole.

Yoga Sutras provide the traditional foundation of yoga, in which he outlines an eightfold path of the practice. Known as the ‘Eight Limbs of Yoga,’ this path offers a guide to individuals who are dedicated to creating a union between body, mind and spirit.

Each of the Eight Limbs offers a means of living with more integrity, self-discipline, respect for nature and connection with the spiritual aspects of life. These eight practices are intended to be carried out in a holistic and integrative manner:

  1. Yamas – Five universal, ethical and moral observances to live by (nonviolence, truthfulness, non-stealing, continence and non-covetousness)
  2. Niyamas – Five spiritual and self-discipline observances (cleanliness, contentment, spiritual austerities, study of scriptures and surrender to God)
  3. Asana: physical posture, originally intended only for seated meditation, but more recently adapted to encompass all physical yoga practices.
  4. Pranayama – breathing exercises to control the flow of prana (vital life force)
  5. Pratyahara – Withdrawal of the senses
  6. Dharana – Single pointed concentration
  7. Dhyana – Meditation
  8. Samadhi – Liberation or blissful union with the Divine

A person doing yoga will move from one posture (called asana) to another, but there are also other aspects which are important in yoga, such as breath-work, mantras, mudras (postures of the hands and fingers), meditation and much more (for more information, check out the Yoga Sutras). For example, the “sun -salutation” contains 12 poses of asanas, one after the other, and is said to help balance body and Soul. There is a specific mantra for each asana. The “sun-salutation” is popularly known as “Suryanamaskara”.